Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Things went bad, really quick :-(

    May 8, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    I am sick, really sick (really). After 3 days of staying on location, i am still not even close to feeling better. At night i am bathing in sweat, while shivering of the cold until all my muscles start cramping up. To add to the situation, my water ran out, so i was losing more water than i was taking in from the 1 or 2 apples that i tried to eat. I needed water quickly.... So took all the energy that i had left, and got out of the camper, in the blazing heat, trying to stop somebody from the campground, and asking him if he could maybe get me some cold water from the store, because i did not know anymore how to move myself normally without getting dizzy.
    Then it happened... while i was talking to the campground guy, i suddenly felt extremely dizzy, started talking irrational, and could not stand on my feet anymore... i tripped, got back up, and about 10 seconds later i completely lost control and fell backwards on the sandy rocky ground.
    That was it... my left leg hurt enormously, and my body decided it did not want to get up anymore. So here starts the latest, unanticipated adventure, when 911 was called, and about 10 minutes later a full emergency crew was around me, hooking me up on an IV, stabilizing my leg, and then transported me to the nearest emergency room in the neighborhood. After being hooked up to i don’t know how many equipment, it turned out that i was severely dehydrated, underfed ( had not been eating for about 3 days), and the x-rays showed a broken upper leg, and a starting lung infection.
    After getting me stabilized, i was directly moved to a bigger hospital, to have surgery performed on my leg, in which they fixated the bone with big screws and stuff. I finally ended up staying in the hospital for 4 days, before i was moved to a hotel, awaiting my arranged return flight home to Brussels. This was luckily arranged really well: Ambulance to Las Vegas, first class flight to NYC and Business class flight to Brussels.
    My parents picked me up from the airport, and now i am staying at my parents place, until my leg is sort of functional again...

    Trip summary to follow later :-)

    Warm regards,
    Eric
    Read more