Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Fuck ups

    September 15, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I had a pretty clear-cut and well thought out plan for today that went out the window eventually. This was my only full day in Seville, and so I had quite a bit to see. I started, however, wandering around the old town to see the markets and look for Christmas gifts once again. After this, I was planning to go back to the hostel chill a bit, then bike ride through the parks along the river. Then go to the Alcazar, and finish the day at the Plaza de Espana - easily thr site in Seville that you have to see. But when I got back to the hostel, I ran into the German, and we got caught up chatting for quite a while. It wasn't long until we realised we had to go to Alcazar to make it to our time slot. And despite getting incredible lost, walking around the outside of the site for 30 minutes, we eventually made it to the entrance. You would really think they could have some signs, but they didn't. It was really cool to walk through here. It wasn't as nice as the Alhambra in Granada, but it's still really cool to walk through. The gardens were beautiful, and vines covered the walls surrounding the building. Helping you forget you're in a city and making it feel like you're in a forest. The building was even more amazing, each room having a slightly different design while still being incredibly intricate and stunning. After this, I was supposed to go to the Plaza De Espana, but got distracted after getting food and having some drinks with Jo (the german). I completely forgot about my plans to go to the Plaza. In fact, I only remembered when I arrived in Lagos. I am gutted that I could have forgotten the main viewing point in Seville, and I am trying to develop a plan to go back already, but it will have to be in winter. This is perhaps one of my biggest involuntary fuck ups since travelling, I always see the big ticket items and then begin to make my way down the list but this time I completely forgot. It didn't help that I had to bring my bus trip to Lagos forward. Otherwise, I could have gone in the morning. We did decide to go and walk into the Cathedral, but when we tried to buy tickets, we were told that someone had booked out the whole Cathedral for a wedding. In shock, I uttered under my breath. "What must that have cost", the lady laughed but also seemed unable to even provide an estimate despite working at the facility. My guess is my whole years salary.

    We did manage to stumble across the ___ and a lot of op shops on our journey to find somewhere to drink and eat. We walked for far too long before just randomly picking a place to sit to enjoy a break. When I went to buy a glass of wine and a large beer, I was shocked to see it only cost me 5 euro. We had walked so far we were well outside of the touristy areas and thus prices dropped. The issue then became that the occurrence of English dropped significantly, but it gave me a chance to test out my Spanish. To which I learnt, I can somewhat speak it, but I have a long way to go before I can understand it. After a few drinks here, we headed for a kebab and ate it at the park before going home and going to bed. It was a great day, but I am still so shocked and annoyed that I forgot to the Plaza de Espana. How that slipped my mind is beyond me.
    Read more