Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Back Home

    March 12, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 41 °F

    Well, once again I needed to come back due to a loved one in need. This time, my mom experienced a heart attack on Sat night, 3/11 and perished quickly thereafter. It was her decision not to have recommended procedures done, a decision I agreed with, but which finally caught up with her. She went her way, and I am happy for her....all the while I will miss our talks. Thank goodness Deb was with her and Sue joined them at the hospital.

    When I left in early Feb, I knew in my heart it may be the last time I would see her but I also knew she could still go on to outlive me. She wanted me to go on as usual and she thoroughly enjoyed my posts on my travels. We talked constantly by texts about my travels and VT games.

    So I know she was at peace till the end and her suffering was short... That’s what she wanted and I’m glad it worked out for her.

    After I was advised of her passing, I immediately decided to leave the park in Jacksonville, Fl and head home. Eric was in Jupiter, Fl and got a ride to JAX to join me for the ride home.

    We jumped on I-95N and the GPS said “537 miles to next turn”... damn....

    All worked out well initially until a tire on my Jeep (towed car) blew a tire on I-95N at 65 mph and I didn’t know it until a car passed us honking their horn. The tire was fried by the time I stopped.

    A Good Samaritan stopped to help with a good jack and we were back on our way. I’m working on finding out more about the “Coastie” (US Coast Guard guy) that helped us. More later as I track him down.

    So after 8+ hrs, I found it amazing that our route took us directly over the same spot that my father died on in a traffic accident on RT 58 in Nov, 1975. It was strange looking over the junkyard where the truck he drove that day was taken.

    So Rosie and I are back home for a period. My mom was an amazing woman, classy and most of all for me, allowed me to search my own track, standing by admiring my progress and most importantly, my failures. That to me, is by far, the best traits of a parent. I will never forget her for that incredibly deep lesson and sincerely hope I have passed the same on to my children. I love my successes but remember so clearly and painfully my failures. Thanks so much MOM for standing by and letting me experience those failures so I know sincerely the differences, allowing me to more appreciate the successes. In the end I’m sure she’s smiling with pride on the legacy Dane and Zella Cox have left.

    I sincerely hope when my time comes, someone will say the same of me.
    Read more