Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    First time surfing

    February 1, 2019 in Nicaragua ⋅ 🌙 29 °C

    Sleep was great. They have fans in the rooms to keep us cool and we have the ocean waves providing a nice soothing rhythm. Perfect sleeping conditions for me.

    I wake up at 5:30. It is central time here so it’s really 6:30. I thought others would be up for coffee and the sunrise. Nope, I'm on on my own, I meet Mylena who is part of the morning staff. She brings in the coffee while I try practicing my Spanish and have a small conversation with her. The conversation is short, my vocabulary is still too limited 🤷‍♂️. Mylena offers to help me practice, I need to find more sentences to say for her tomorrow morning.

    After our first breakfast we get our first surfing lesson which is included in our stay. Oscar has a team of instructors ready to help us with our first waves. It's quite the sport, I did not think that I would have been out of breath that much practicing this sport. Battling the crashing waves as you head to sea requires lots of jumping over the break and then trying not to be pulled back to shore. After a couple of attempts to stand on the board we are able to ride the waves. It's a great feeling when you ride the wave.

    After a couple hours of surfing we head back to the Casa Grande for second breakfast. Another great meal is served. Jamie, one of the owners, comes to chat with us. He shares a short version of his story on how he decided to come Nicaragua to build something that will benefit the community. He will share more when the rest of the remaining guests have arrived early next week.

    I then decide to head for a nap as the surfing took quite the toll on my body. Once rested we have a super relaxing yoga session with Nicky who made us go through some great stretch poses. After yoga we eat lunch which is again really tasty and also healthy. I think I may gain 10 pounds this week. Alvaro is the cook and so far all the food he has prepared was amazing.

    We relax for the rest of the afternoon with some reading, swimming and enjoying local rum. Another group of guests arrive around 7:30pm. We know these guys as we met them last year at the retreat in Costa Rica. We will be 18 total, more are arriving at midnight and the remaining will arrive Saturday at different times.

    The day ends with another great meal. I think it will be pretty easy to fall asleep tonight.
    Read more