Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    William Creek

    February 20, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    A massive cooked breakfast to start the day off followed by saying bye bye to Beltana and Choco (the lairy lama)! Talc Alf's house in pretty much the middle of no where was our first port of call this morn. A very peculiar man indeed that I didn't really know what to make of. Basically an elderly guy living in the outback, off his rocker, with some kind of hippy theory about symbols and alphabet and the meaning of words/life etc. I didn't quite get it but he did make nice sculptures out of a talcy like rock. The landscape has now become what I was expecting it to be, a strong red dirt with a vividly blue sky to contrast. Our next stop was Ochre pits which are layers of different coloured rock that is traditionally used by aboriginals for paint, in particularly for body paint during ceremonies.

    We continued along the Oodnadatta track to William Creek stopping at Lake eyre and a bubbler along the way. The short walk down to the salt lake was a harsh one as it was scorching hot with a fair few opting to stay back. Two minutes into the walk I realised I'd left my camera on the bus but there was no way I was going back for it. It's astonishing how anyone manages to trek through the outback! I was behind the group and as soon as your own footsteps stopped you could here nothing. It was probably the most silent silence I have ever heard which was pretty cool.

    Just before we arrived at William Creek a speedy young emu joined us on the road sprinting alongside the bus. This was incredible as he was keeping up with the bus really easily, a very quick bird indeed. Once we arrived at William Creek we had a fancy dress party with the theme "never would I ever.... wear this" in the one pub of this tiny village along with all of the five people that lived there.
    Read more