Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Epilogue

    December 5, 2023 in Mexico

    The day after our high seas adventure, the San Jose del Cabo Marina Manager came to see us. We learned a couple things from him. For one another sailboat that same day lost it’s mast when the forestay (front steel cable) broke. They also lost their engine and had to be towed.

    He asked how much sailing experience we had in the area? The answer was “it’s our first time.” The long and short of his response was that the kind of conditions we experienced are not uncommon. Anyway he knew what we were dealing with, and had waited up for us until 3AM with others to make sure we arrived safely. He was the one who took it upon himself to find a private party to tow us the last seven miles. We were glad for it!

    Over dinner the next night, I said to Eric “I was never frightened.” Eric replied “neither was I.” We were in a compromised and challenging situation but it never became dire. Even when we were momentarily out of control a few times, we quickly got back in control. The conditions were adverse but the sailboat was also built to handle those conditions. The boat rode through the wind and waves well, as long as we managed it right. But for the leak and no engine, the wild waves and wind would have been just a really bad day to be sailing.

    I don’t know if the following is true or not, but it seems that it must be true. I said to Eric “Every seasoned sailor has had experiences like we just went through.” And Eric added “And if they haven’t they are not a seasoned sailor.”

    In our discussions with other sailors around the dinner tables, we heard first hand stories from people who rode out hurricanes in the southern ocean, or at anchor in La Paz, or dodged then followed hurricanes in the northern Pacific while riding 75’ very long period waves. It’s not like anyone seeks out that sort of thing, but these are risks involved with extended ocean travel.

    My Baja Sailing Adventure is over as previously planned. Of course it turned out to be more adventure than I bargained for. I’m back at Bob’s house in Cabo enjoying his beautiful home and view out toward the southern Pacific. He will take me to the airport tomorrow and I fly back to the states. Eric’s friend Greg flys in tomorrow and joins Eric for the “bash” as it’s known, back to Southern California. The bash is so named because one has to bash northward against wind and waves. I told Eric when we first started planning the trip “I’m not doing the bash.” That decision was made after listening to the good counsel of my old friend and sailor John.

    Would I do something like this again? I wouldn’t rule it out; but risks, and mitigating risks, and my age would be carefully evaluated.

    I liked the long distance cruising. The trip was a real eye opener as to what is possible in that regard. Now having made it from San Diego to Cabo plus a partial exploration of the Sea of Cortez, sailing on down the coast of Mexico and beyond seems feasible not just fantasy. I wish too that we had more time to enjoy the jewel that is the Sea of Cortez. Starting in La Paz or Cabo seems ideal, but not easy to implement unless you’re made of money and have one of the many yachts here.

    I’m looking forward to getting home, being on land, and working on some of the many unfinished building projects that await. I’m also looking forward to being home with my wife Gayle and our dog Sydney too. I’m not planning to go anywhere for a while. The adventure bug has run it’s course for now.
    Read more