Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Sorrento and Positano

    September 13, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    We had a fairly leisurely start to the day and were down in the breakfast room for a serve yourself breaky at 8am – with fruit, cereal, yoghurt, bread, cheese, cake and coffee. There were also homemade preserves from the convent garden produce.
    Sated and organised we set off down to Sorrento – we measured the distance to the train station (3km) and it will be interesting to look at the elevation profile from the GPS when we can upload it as it is a long way down, first via the road, then a winding and narrow lane between olive groves before descending some steps and several more switch backs to the end of the main street.
    We had a walk through town to a spot which on the map seemed to indicate a beach – however this was only in the most liberal sense of the word – there was (at the base of a cliff accessed by a kind of cobblestoned, ill lit tunnel) sea and some dirty black sand – there was also a 5 euro entry fee, another 5 euro for the deck chairs, 4 euro for the umbrella and 10 euro to have a peddelo for an hour….. maybe not. We climbed back up to the street level and then decided to do our own thing for the day.
    Kirstin went exploring in the historic town, browsing the shops and stalls down the cute little lanes, doing some shopping and enjoying some lunch. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do – I had a bit of a walk ending up at the station where I saw the bus for Positano – I have a chat with the girl and the ticket booth and got myself talked into a 15euro return ticket to Positano (more expensive than the public bus, but they are clean, airconditioned, you have a guaranteed seat and return time, there is an informative commentary and best of all they are NOT driven by maniacs). I jumped aboard on the last seat and the bus headed out.
    It was about a 40 minute drive (with free Wi-Fi) so I could “chat” to Sam while enjoying the amazing views down the coast. Positano soon came in to view (it is rather spread out – and up and down the cliffs too I guess) and we disembarked and were directed to the town. Apparently named in honour of the God Poseidon the area was traditionally focused on fishing and lemons but now (apart from the ever-present tourism thing – hire a boat or a vespa!!!) has added ceramics and fashion to its attractions. There are oodles of ceramic shops, fashion boutiques (with white, sand and blue cotton) and limoncello shops and stalls lining the incredibly steep and narrow streets and lanes of the town. I wandered down and then up and then down again browsing the shops and enjoying the sunshine – although the town was busy there were quitter parts and it certainly wasn’t as horrid as I was expecting based on the whole Cinque Terra experience. I ended up on the small beach with was grey pebbles and not really too crowded – I was tempted to swim but didn’t want to leave my gear unguarded. I contented myself with a paddle and then enjoyed a relax in the sun for a bit.
    I then headed back up though the town browsing the shops and stalls as I went and resisting the temptation to buy some of the lovely, but impractical pottery. Near the main road I found a bar and enjoyed a Peroni and chat with the barman (his daughter is 14 and obsessed with sushi – he doesn’t think it is hygienic apparently).
    The beer really hit the spot, then, fortified it was off to wait for the bus, it turned up (15 minutes late – why am I even surprised – this is Italy). And it was back to Sorrento – again enjoying the spectacular views along the coast.
    Back in town I went for a wander taking a circuitous route via the lanes of the historic centre to look at the stalls and shops selling all manner of things (although the lemon theme is VERY strong). I finally made my way back to the end of the main street and made the ascent back to Oasi della Madre Pace – it was less arduous than I expected although the last 50 metres is the hardest with a 50degree (approx.) gradient on the street to the convent. We took up the option of dinner with the Nuns again and enjoyed another generous meal (focaccia, pasta, omelette and vegetables, fruit and biscotti – with wine and limoncello of course).
    Read more