Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Trip Influences on Me

    May 10, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    I think this trip will have an influence on my decision making and my ability to go with the flow. Seeing Shelby so willing to talk to locals about great opportunities for our group was great, even if we did not get to go to all of those things. Hearing everyone giving Shelby feedback about things going smoother when she was more assertive and decisive was also important for me as a leader. I tend to try to let others decide because I am not sure what they want to do, but in many leadership situations, it is not always about what people want to do, and I know I need to learn to be more assertive in that aspect. Decision making is another important part of trip planning. In class, we talked about how there is not a wrong decision when deciding to do one activity or another, either way you will get to do something fun, so spending less time stressing over the decision and more time doing the activity you chose will help you, as well as the group. This trip also showed me that just because I am not having the best time, does not mean that someone else is not enjoying it. In San Francisco I tried to make sure I was asking people how their days were. In every case, people told me they had a great day and had lots of fun doing activities with the group they stuck with. Even though I was not having the best time, I was glad to hear that other people in the group were enjoying the trip. As a result of asking people about their day, I usually ended up finding something in my day that was enjoyable as well. So in the end, other people enjoying the trip helped me enjoy it more too.Read more