衛星
マップで表示する
  • 日3

    Seatoller

    2021年10月15日, イングランド ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    On a beautiful sunny day, I left the hotel at Old Trafford at 10.00 and drove the short distance to Altrincham on the A56.
    8 Stamford Street where my ancestors, the Ernills, live in the late 19th century, had been redevoloped. However, 14 Kingsway was still the 19th century building. where Samuel Ernill had opened a butcher's in about 1880 with the family, including my grandmother, living above. It was an empty unit now. I spoke to two gentlemen who knew George Ernill who had died in recent years after closing the business, not having a son to take on the business. They said that he hadn't maintained the property or provided proper heating. His daughter and grandchildren live nearby in Downham.
    Driving back down the A56, I travelled on the M60 and M61 before joining the M6. I stopped at the Teebay Services near Jct 39 for lunch; a homemade steak pie and vegetables. The Services had appeared on a TV programme about Lake District businesses and the encouragement of local suppliers. The farm shop was very busy.
    I continued on to the next junction, joining the A66 to Keswick which was also very busy. A B road went the 8 miles down Borrowdale to Seatoller where Glaramara House was situated. I arrived there at 15.00, having been delayed a few minutes by a herd of sheep being brought down the road.
    My single room, although with a double bed, looked out at the fell behind the hotel. Two fell ponies were in the field.
    The briefing for the Explore group was at 18.00. There were 12 in the group; two Fionas, Elizabeth, Sarah, Paula, Louise, Jennifer, Rebecca, Sven, Jeremy, Robert and myself. The leaders, Glaramara staff, were Tom and Dwayne. The group were there for 6 nights and 5 days.
    Dinner was at the hotel, the first of many good meals.
    Mileage: 138.
    もっと詳しく