Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Koguchi

    October 11, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    The Japanese set breakfast included a small glass of orange juice which typified the miniaturisation of the food and drink on the set menus.
    The ryokan at Yunomine provided a transfer to the bus-stop in the village where I caught a bus to Ukegawa from where I walked 13 km from Post 54 to 29 at Koguchi.
    I met again the American from Washington DC and a lady from Singapore plus a couple from Walthamstow which included a lady who worked at St Thomas's Hospital; a small world. An Aussie lady took my photo at the viewpoint and summit called Hyakken-gura about halfway along today's hike.
    I stayed at a converted schoolhouse called Shizen-no-le, a ryokan with about 20 guests including an Intrepid group on an activity holiday. There was an onsen.
    The Japanese set dinner and breakfast were in a large dining-hall with your seat indicated by your room number.
    Read more