Satellite
Show on map
  • We've Made It!

    May 9, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    (1) What was I hoping to learn about myself as a leader:
    Southwestern College is a small college nestled in the Walnut Valley in Winfield, Kansas. The population of Winfield is a little over 12,000. In my junior class alone at Southwestern College there about 60 students. I attended high school with about that many. My high school graduating class had a grand total of 17 students. My world is small and for the most part always has been. I have done a significant amount of traveling and flying throughout my lifetime, so I have experienced what it is like to be in a large city and to see places that I am unfamiliar with. However, where I was raised and where I continue to live is just a small speck on the map. I come into contact with the same few people daily. My everyday scope of my surroundings has been consistently quite small. Perspective is quite important. Knowing context as a leader will make a significant difference in leadership style and ability. By knowing how the context will affect followers, a leader is able to be that much more in tune to their servanthood. Therefore within leadership, it is necessary to recognize how your surrounds effect your followers. To best serve, is critical to understand what the follower needs and knows. By utilizing their knowledge of the context the leader is able to best frame what is most important. Coming from such a small college and by being in many leadership positions within that small college, I know and understand the small context of Winfield, Kansas well. By being given leadership opportunities within a much larger city, as well as on a much larger scale, I hope to learn more about how to recognize the different aspects of context and how to best suit the context to the current follower.Read more