Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    3 weeks since I left the office...

    March 25, 2020 in Ireland ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    Restrictions have quickly ramped up since we got a text 3 weeks ago telling us not to come into the office. Leo made an announcement last night to say that all non essential services must shut and outdoor gatherings of more than 4 people are no longer allowed.

    Meeting up with my friends in the pub seems like a distant world right now. Only last weekend we went for a hike up the Wicklow mountains..Our last for a while by the looks of it!

    The weather is unseasonably warm and sunny but I spend most of my time indoors. Everyone has gone mad for toilet paper for some reason..I got caught up in the hype and ended up buying a massive stash!

    A few thoughts -
    (I'll probably add to these as I go along)

    Things I like about the situation:
    1. Getting to spend more time with Mia.
    2. Lots of time to declutter the house
    3. Lots of free online classes to try out
    4. More time for home cooked meals
    5. A greater appreciation for the little things in life (That first hug with Mum, Lisa and Anna when this is all over will be so good!)
    6. Virtual family & friends chats

    Things I don't like:
    1. The fear that someone I know will get badly sick
    2. Not knowing when it will all be over
    3. Having to cross the road whenever I come across someone while out running
    4. The worry every time I leave the house that I might catch the virus
    5. The monotony of working from home - week days and weekends are blending together!
    6. Mia spending too much time on her laptop and too little time outdoors.

    Things I'm grateful for -
    1. My home office - I know alot of people are crammed into small apartments trying to work at the kitchen table!
    2. My garden - At least if I can't leave the house I can still sit outside.
    3. Paul & Mia - I'm grateful that we all have a good relationship & enjoy spending time together!
    4. My yoga mat - I'm really enjoying doing lots of virtual yoga sessions.
    5. Being Irish - Our government seem to be doing a really great job managing this crisis. When I look at how the UK and America are handling it I'm grateful to be Irish.

    Things I miss -
    1. Hugs
    2. Meeting up with my friends
    3. Long, guilt free runs.
    4. Browsing the shops.
    5. Coffee breaks at work.
    6. Walking to the village for dinner.
    7. Going on holidays.
    8. Dropping in to Mum's.
    9. Planning the next gig/holiday/night out.
    10. Certainty about the near future.
    12. My morning commute - I know it sounds strange but I really miss the daily routine!
    13. Pete sessions
    14. Tuesday night training
    15. Parkrunning
    16. Normality - I can't imagine things ever being the same again.
    Read more