Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 32

    Quiet Tuesday

    11 augustus 2020, Australië ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Up at 7.15am.
    Walked Lacey.
    There was a huge high tide and all the sandbars in the lake had disappeared under the water.
    We haven’t seen it like that since the creek exit into the sea was blocked 2 weeks ago.
    Looked wonderful.

    Emily had a big sleep in and was in her bus most of the day.
    I went grocery shopping.
    Walked out of the supermarket to find a Supagas Ute parked on the road verge near Tin Tin.
    It was Daryl.
    Together we rang My Aged Care to get all types of services that will be available to Mum when she goes home.
    She had previously been assessed and I had authority to speak so got all the information that we needed.

    Drove back into Woopi.
    Wandered a few shops.
    Turns out I like buying things.
    Bought a jumper.
    Then thought I had better stop.
    Back to camp.
    Separated the groceries between our 2 fridges.
    ( Gave Emily her milk!)

    Put the green sun shelter back up.
    ( I love that shelter with the table and chairs there. Use it a lot.)
    And the forecast is now for very little wind the next few days.
    And temps of 21, 25 and 25 ... changing to cooler on Friday.

    It was windy last night.
    Felt very snug in my van. 😁

    Had lunch.
    Walked Lacey around the creek and beach.
    Pulled out my back deck and spent a good portion of the afternoon reading on that in the sun.
    It’s very good for making friends.
    People stop and ask me about the deck as they wander past.

    Met new people to the park who have an inflatable paddle board.
    They offered the use of their hand pump to Emily for hers.
    The inflatable paddle board came with a large hand pump but due to storage restrictions in the bus, Emily has only bought her electric pump, thinking that would work well.
    But it does not have the seal to stop all the air rushing out as she disconnects the valve.
    The hand pump is a special design apparently.
    So up till now she hasn’t been able to really use the paddle board.
    Tried at the Hume Weir but it was not inflated enough.
    And she fell off!

    So this man helped Emily blow up her paddle board and it is as hard as a rock now.
    Tomorrow may be the “Paddle Board Day.”

    Cut my hair.
    That was a bit awkward.
    Crouched in Tin Tin, on the floor, in front of a 3 inch by 4 inch mirror, by torchlight, trying not to get loose hair on the bed.
    No idea what it will look like in the daylight.
    Might be wearing a hat for a fortnight yet!

    That’s it.
    In bed, blogging.
    And ready to read.

    Oh.
    Oh.
    Been searching for years for whale vomit ...
    ( Stay with me.)
    Ambergris.
    Used in perfumes.
    WORTH A FORTUNE.
    Washes up on beaches very, very, very rarely.
    After floating for years in the sea.
    Read about it ages ago, so once I figured that all the pirates treasure chests had probably been found, I started looking for whale vomit as I wandered beaches.
    Can be a yellow colour.

    So ....
    What is that yellow thing up on the high tide line?
    A hard rock type thing, with smaller stones embedded in it?
    That Lacey is going absolutely nuts over?
    ( Dogs love ambergris.)

    So I bought it home.
    Don’t think it is ...
    But I like to think it might be.
    ( Bit like my 2 pound diamond ring from the antique shop in Stratford on Avon.
    Don’t think it is.
    But I like to think it might be.)
    That’s the fun bit!

    So just in case this weird yellow soft rock thing is ambergris, it’s not sitting on my outdoor table.
    I have this treasure safely stored under the bed.

    Nigh nigh.

    Xxx
    Meer informatie