Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Day 24, still in Leon!

    June 16, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    This has been a day of cultural gems. I went out for a walk at 7.30 this morning and wandered around admiring Leon’s street art and marvelling at the council’s efforts to ensure the city was blooming - wish we could emulate both at home.
    Our first proper activity was a visit to San Isidoro’ Basilica, an 11th century Romanesque church built while the Moors were in charge. I loved its austere beauty.
    From there we went to the adjacent museum (where we weren’t allowed to take photographs) and we were bowled over by the largest collection of medieval books I’ve ever seen, the highlight being a 10th century bible annotated in Arabic.
    I did sneak a picture of a wonderful 10th century crucifix which made me want to return to Leon on a art history holiday. The tour kept the best until
    last - The Pantheon of Kings - a chapel with amazing medieval murals on both walls and ceilings. I was so frustrated not to be allowed to capture any images!
    My next visit was to the museum attached to the cathedral which contained works of art which had at some period been displayed in the cathedral itself. Again, the building was amazing and the art works beautiful and thought-provoking. I spotted another image of Mary pregnant (perhaps I’m wrong that this is very rare).
    We went to mass in the cathedral chapel and then struggled to find an early dinner. My stomach is still a bit dodgy so I needed to be cautious but Fiona was ravenous and frustrated that all vegetarian restaurants were closed until 8.30. We settled in the end for a cheese sandwich (practically all I’ve eaten successfully for three days) at our hotel.
    In the way of things in this part of Spain, we then stumbled on some dancing women in the street in traditional costume. Maybe because it’s Friday?
    Our final huge treat was a concert at the cathedral which allowed us access to it at night and provided us with a sublime end to the day. The concert performers were a wonderful
    organist and a woman who looked like she’d been a thalidomide child playing the pan pipes. The purpose of the concert, according to the programme, was the inclusion and promotion of disabled musicians. Both performers were superb and it was very special to hear the cathedral’s very fine organ. Although we are now worryingly late going to bed I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.
    Read more