Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 255

    The End of our 1st Sailing Trip

    November 27, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 82 °F

    Wow. Our first sailing adventure has come to end. We are currently sailing across the Gulf of Mexico. It's pitch black out. The stars are so bright, it looks like freight trains coming at me. Endless amounts of shooting stars tonight. Seascape is calm & winds are settle. Maintaining a little over 5 knots which isn't great but I'm not complaining its so unbelievably peaceful. I'm just sitting here at the helm station sipping on my matcha taking the first shirt of the night.

    Today has felt so surreal. We left home 8 months ago to embark on our 1st sailing journey. We crossed 3 oceans and visited 5 countries. Made so many new friends, learned a lot about sailing, new cultures and got to see some of the most beautiful remote places most people will never get to see. I can't tell you what has been my favorite experience. I have enjoyed it all. Even the bad and ugly has a beauty to it because it's an experience I will never forget. I truly never want this adventure to end. It's a weird kind of addiction that probably only makes sense if you live the life of a sailor. There are so many ups and downs to this lifestyle but when I look back I remember more of the good times then the bad. I feel like my life before tended to relish more on the bad than the good. Why is that? Why do people back home always talk about the negative incidents that happen to them more than the positive ones. Maybe because back home all the good incidents are so relatable and the bad incidents are the ones that stand out the most. I guess that's the stuff people are more curious to learn about. Now, my life isn't relatable at all. My experiences are unique and authentic.

    This life has given me the confidence I have been needing. I no longer care so much about my appearance or if I am fitting in with the crowd. Materialistic things don't matter as much now. My life is simplified.

    Gosh, I remember back in February when we were taking shack down cruises to the Keys. I can't even begin to describe what that feeling was like, taking Iwa sailing in the open waters for the first time. We were sailing our new home! So much freedom and excitement. The feeling is so different now from then. It's become a "norm" for us now but there's still no contentment, which I love. The second your content is when you need to change things up and continue to evolve. We are always being challenged out here. There's not a day that goes by that I take this life for granted or feel any regret. I will do whatever it takes to sustain this life forever. Everyday on this boat gives me more motivation to keep chugging along with my career in trading. Hopefully we can inspire others to do the same one day. That's the next goal.

    The curiosity never stops, the new adventures are always beginning and meaningful relationships mean more now than ever. I feel changed. Changed in a good way.

    ...

    January 2023 begins the next sailing adventure...the eastern Caribbean.
    Read more