Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Daintree Rainforest & Cape Tribulation

    September 16, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I joined a group today for coach journey to the North of Cairns to the oldest rainforest in the world - The Daintree. Our first stop was at Mossman Gorge, where we were involed in a smoke ceremony from an indigenous bloke who lit a fire using a specific tree bark to bless our spirits with the help of his ancestors He also showed us how different clays and plants are used to decorate the skin to denote different Aboriginal tribes.. Some of the more brave of our group then went for a swim in the water rushing through the gorge . Unfortunately, I had forgotten my budgie smugglers, so I had to sit that out 🙄. Next, we went up further north to the Daintree river, where we got on a boat to spot some wildlife. We were lucky enough to see 3 saltwater crocodiles on the river bank - 2 adults and a little 'un. Back on the coach again and even further north to Cape Tribulation, so named after Captain Cook ran aground here and was the beginning of a load of hassle for him, hence 'trials and tribulations'. This is also the spot where two World Heritage sites meet - the Rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef.
    It's been a bloody long day (11 hours in all), but I've seen things and sights I would never have if I had just hired a car and attempted it on my own.
    Read more