Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Car Hire Day!

    September 18, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Before I left the UK, I reserved a small car for me to use today as I didn't have anything planned. I thought twice about going to pick up the car as it was raining and it was forecast to for most of the day. Anyway, I decided to go for it and I'm glad that I did as the weather brightened up.
    I drove North from Cairns, and my first stop was at the spectacular Ellis Beach. This is a picture perfect tropical beach with golden sand and palms fringing the edges. I didn't dip my toes in as the risk of being eaten by a saltwater croc put me off a bit 🐊.
    Back in the car again and I drove up further and stopped in at Hartleys Crocodile Adventures. Lots of crocs here (obs) and it was cool to see them attack chickens on a stick for the crowds entertainment. Normally, these crocs just lie there motionless, so they may as well be rubber ones for all I know. There was some native birdlife here, too, like the cassawary and the kookaburra in my pics.
    I jumped back in the car and made my way up to Port Douglas, which is a beautiful town with a superyacht marina and with coconut palms everywhere you look 🌴🌴🌴. I made my way to the marina and boarded an original, authentic Chinese junk boat for a sunset cruise. Unfortunately, the sunset was a non event as the clouds and mist covered the mountains where it was due to set - it was still cool though and the ships mate made us some Chinese dimsums which were yum.
    Back on dry land, I got back into the car and drove the 1 hour journey back on the Captain Cook Highway to where I'm staying.
    Read more