Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Last couple of days in Cairns

    September 20, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    On Wednesday, I was up extra early again to go reef fishing from Cairns Harbour. I was on the boat ready for it it to leave at 6:30, and then it was another hour and 45 minutes to the first spot of the day. It wasn't the best day's fishing I've ever had, but it certainly was the worst as I caught 4 in total. Some of the others on the boat caught nothing at all, whereas some caught some absolute beauties that were prepared on board for their dinners later!
    On the morning that I was due to leave Cairns, I wandered along the Rainforest Boardwalk, which was actually more rainforest than the actual rainforest I'd been to a few days earlier! The palms and other tropical trees here were massive with wildlife everywhere. At around 11ish, it was so hot and humid that I'd kind of had enough and just wanted to get somewhere with air-con!
    The last couple of photos are of the GBR from a distance, and then Brisbane.
    Read more