Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Ubud is so beautiful

    February 8 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    I was a bit nervy about doing a few days of solo travel before my YTT starts but it feels safe here. Everyone has been so friendly, both the locals and fellow travellers.

    Most travellers I meet are also solo and escaping their stressful lives at home to either live out here and work remotely, or they are doing some healing and wellness to get better. I didn't expect that every person I meet would be doing yoga classes out here. I've seen lots of people journalling and some new friends have been really open with me about their reflections. I feel deeply happy for them to have come so far and been brave enough to come out here all alone. Taking a leap in life is scary but it can be so rewarding.

    It's not all rainbows though... the roads are hectic and dangerous for scooters and sometimes there is basically no footpath. There's poverty, mosquitoes, cockroaches, strange smells, heavy rain showers, it's very hot and humid, and you need to watch out for scammers.

    I've still not sorted out my sleep cycle but it hasn't stopped me having a lovely time. Feeling incredibly lucky to be here. Fingers crossed I can sleep past 4am tonight😌
    Read more