Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 79

    Happy SG50 from Sentosa!

    August 9, 2015 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Hey everyone, sorry for neglecting the blog these past couple weeks. I've been having a bit of trouble getting the paperwork done for my research position but it eventually sorted itself out. My last day of work was Thursday, it's a long weekend here as Singapore celebrates it's 50th anniversary as a country. Anyway, onto the good stuff!

    Yesterday some friends and I visited Sentosa, a small island located at the southern tip of Singapore. Home to a number of attractions including the SEA Aquarium and some of the nicer beaches around, we made our way to the main event: Universal Studios!

    Admittedly, it was better than I had expected. I thought it was going to be full of screaming kids tugging on their parents' arms, but some of the rides were really fun. There were many exhibitions, all themed after Universal Studios productions like Madagascar, Shrek, Despicable Me, Jurassic Park and Transformers. My favorite was Battletar Galactica roller coaster whose track was above you (as opposed to under you; think of being in a child swing with your legs dangling). The line was long but worth it; I definitely got my adrenaline fix for the next little while.

    After all was said and done we made our way back, crossing the beautifully lit boardwalk connecting Sentosa to the mainland. Hungry beyond belief, we had dinner at a German restaurant, feasting on bratwurst, spaetzle, pork knuckle and fine beer. I have only a few days left in Singapore; looking forward to seeing you all soon!
    Read more