Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Wat Phrabat Tinnok

    November 29, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I spent the morning wandering the old city again after another noodle breakfast. I wanted to explore a couple of the museums, in particular the Lanna Folklife Museum, but they were all closed. After some walking, I returned to my hotel. There, I had a conversation with Jeff about whether I should cut short my trip due to the emerging Omicron variant. I assessed that because Thailand moved quickly to revoke quarantine free travel for people who had been in Southern Africa, the risk to my safety wasn't great. The bigger risk in my mind was whether Japan Air Lines would cancel my flights. As it were, Japan wasn't allowing foreigners in, and so they were operating overseas flights primarily for cargo and transiting passengers. After some discussion, we decided that I should continue as I only had six more days, and even if I could secure an earlier flight, I would not be able to board it unless I undertook a Covid test (which I had already booked for December 3rd). I'm a little nervous, but I have to accept that there is a real risk of getting stranded nowadays if I am to cross borders.

    Paul came to get me just after noon. Our plan was to drive out to the Doi Saket area, which is located about 20 minutes drive northeast of the old city, where he lives and works. Our first order of the day was more khao soi, this time at a roadside stall near his home. After that, we stopped by his office for a while, before we set off to Wat Phrabat Tinnok to enjoy some views of the area.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Thailand/North-…
    Read more