Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Avallon

    September 16, 2021 in France ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    On my final full day in Burgundy I decided to visit Avallon. This is a medieval town steeped in history with a church dating back to the 8th century. I was treated to a wonderful drive through the French countryside down Romanesque straight roads, winding hills and superb views. When I arrived in Avallon I immediately felt at home. Charming people playing boules in a typical French city park was my first view. I ambled along the scenic route to the 12th century church, which I shared alone with the local pigeons that fly around you. The church welcome guide in English invites you ‘enjoy the church, enter with confidence, this is also your house, God’s name resides here, be silent for a little time to commune with God’. I couldn’t ask for more. I sat in a side chapel, which was clearly extremely old. In the chapel in a recess was a statue of Christ lit in natural light. The statue commanded my attention by its beauty. Opposite this were a number of old paintings around the room. Old paintings of apostles and Saints. Exactly opposite Christ was St Theresa or Teresa as it is spelt. I have been reading a book about St Theresa of Avila and she is the theme of a lovely Nanci Griffith song. I now need to know if it is the same person. I need to know because Nanci’s passing last month, which I learned of just after putting together a playlist of her songs is one coincidence. My reading of a book about St Theresa is another. Nanci’s link with her and her song compelling me to by the book is another. Sat there as I was it was rather too much to take in, but also I believe it is a message from God. I was wondering if this trip would give me meaning and at this moment it has. I needed to light a candle as I was writing this in the Church and crying at the same time. It feels as if I am at the end of a long journey of both very sad and good memories and an opportunity for new growth. I feel like I can let go of everything now, as I am being permitted or perhaps encouraged through such signs. I want to be in this moment for ever. I have lit my candle and signed the book. The pigeons carried on talking quietly as they do at times. I wondered if they were content with what they have witnessed, it seems so to me. Other people were entering the church, it seemed my moment had passed, someone else’s turn now hopefully. I have since researched the Teresia facing Jesus and the picture shows her holding a pen and book, her trademark picture as she wrote all her adult life. I am content. I have also learned that pilgrims heading to Santiago de Compostela used to divert 10 miles to the church in order to see the Tomb of Lazarus, or at least a body part! A fitting end and new beginning from my trip.Read more