Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 1

    Final push?

    12 Temmuz 2017, İskoçya ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    So now it's time for the final confession: I actually failed to reach my end destination. The reason for this was purely the amount of tourist traffic on the route, which I'd so badly under-estimated. I knew this by the time I reached Broadford and re-fuel.

    And then if it had been slow coming across Rannoch Moor and up to Fort William, it was even slower on Skye itself. Following traffic at 20mph in a 50mph area is just not going to get you where you planned to be in time. So it was that after 12 hours of almost continuous driving I'd only got to Flodigarry - which is an agonising 4 miles short of Duntulm.

    4 miles seems like nothing but after 12 hours driving, and not even knowing how long that last 4 miles would take if I'd got stuck behind another camper I decided that was it.

    In reality, the roads are skinny here at the top of Skye and its parochial and private and I didn't feel right here anyway - maybe it wasn't the area, maybe it was fatigue or that the pleasure of the trip had transformed into an ordeal with the frustration of the speed of travel.

    And more to the point, I would have had no time at all in which to enjoy Duntulm, view the castle and look out into the distance across the Atlantic.

    But I failed in another way too. And this was definitely due to the frustration of slow progress. I simply didn't stop and take enough photos. So my record of this area is scant.
    Okumaya devam et