Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Day 3

    March 3, 2018 in Italy ⋅ 🌫 1 °C

    The Bernina Express

    Since the weather has been so cold and snowy, I decided to try and add some scenery to all the cold and snow by taking what is billed as one of the most beautiful train trips The Bernina Express from Tirano to St. Moritz, Switzerland. The trip has actually received a designation as one of Unesco's World Heritage Sights, one of only 3 trains to have done so.

    I am sure the trip's views are glorious... in the right weather conditions, unfortunately that was not the case on this trip. It snowed all day and so it was somewhat grey and gloomy out. The views were sort of pretty but was not able to glimpse the glaciers nor towering mountains surely overhead. On the way home it was pretty much a whiteout, due to the fact that we were in the clouds.

    Interestingly enough, at the moment we arrived in tony, monied, glitzy St. Moritz, the skies parted, the sun came out and the temperature seemed to rise about 20 to 30 degrees. I guess that's what money does!

    I walked around St. Mortiz a little bit, which I found sort of boring. Just LOTS of luxury stores: Cartier, Harry Winston, Versace, etc. and some hotels, etc. I found a restaurant and had a really good lunch called "Bunder Capuns" which was swiss chard wrapped around spatzle dough, with bacon and vegetables, topped with a creamy sauce. I also had some drinks and then made my way to the train for the return trip. One of the drinks was called "Vitamin C" which was a warm orange punch with Grand Marnier and it was really good. I told myself it had medicinal properties and no doubt it could cure a lot of ills LOL.

    On the return trip, during the layover in Tirano I got a hot chocolate at a place and it was in truth more of a "drinking chocolate" and was pretty much like drinking a melted chocolate bar. They evidently take their chocolate seriously in these parts.
    Read more