Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Placerville

    June 26, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 35 °C

    Beginning in Placerville, planning the biggest walk of my life, at least the one with boots on. Practice hikes with boots and backpack, shopping expeditions and packing and unpacking, all part of the way to ease into the unknown. Unknown how far I will walk, if I will sleep in an albergue or a pension or hotel, how many days can I walk ten or more miles. Will my body cooperate and be happy with the daily pressure and grind of walking on tarmac (pavement), dirt trails and the biggest challenge: hiking over the Pyrenees. Which camera, phone and how much does everything weigh? If I am advised to carry no more than 10% of my body weight and my pack weighs 2 lbs. 9 oz. and water 2 lbs. should I start eating as much as possible so I can carry more? Well, that's a stretch, but the weight is important, so this will be the lightest and heaviest I have ever traveled. Starting from Sacramento on August 8, flying to London to visit friends, then meeting my hiking companion at the St. Pancras Youth Hostel in London across the street from the International station where we will board the Eurostar to Paris on August 15, traveling underneath the channel on a train! I want to sing that Raffi song, "Under the Sea," but I'll refrain. It's just such an exciting adventure, I can barely think about anything else. What a commitment. Come along and walk with me on this journey.Read more