Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Museum Blitz

    June 15, 2023

    Today I woke up and had a quick breakfast, before we all headed out. We dropped John at the brewery and Hannah and I headed to Arne's. Arne's is the biggest party store I've ever been to. It was 2 levels and the shelves were packed with everything and anything you could think of. The off brand Disney pinatas, Barbie box costume, gummy hot dogs in proper packaging, honestly I could have spent hours there. We got some decorations for the pride run that the brewery is putting on Sunday.
    Then Hannah dropped me off in the museum district of Houston. Majority of museums are free on Thursdays/Thursdays after 2pm so it was time for a blitz. I wanted to stay out of the heat as my app said it felt like 40 degrees too. I started at the Fine Arts museum, wandering around 3 levels of some quite good art. It wasn't as abstract as some art museums I've been to. However I didn't know there were 2 more buildings to discover... But after 3 hours I was more than ready to have lunch.
    I stopped at a taco restaurant and grabbed enchiladas with a beer which were super dooper tasty. I then walked to the health museum which was definitely for children under about 7, so was absolutely teeming with families. I spent maybe 30 mins trying to read and enjoy but it was a lot. So I walked to the holocaust museum and that was fantastic. It did such a great job at humanising and sharing the story. I spent about 2 hours there and definitely needed a hug after.
    Last museum on the list was the natural science museum and wow when I got there, it was going off. There were people everywhere, I used it as my training for Disneyworld next week. The museum itself was set out in a rather confusing way, the signs were not clear and the exhibits were average. I did enjoy the exhibition which took you through evolution of life, through dinosaurs and megafauna but by the end I just wanted to get out.
    I thought about my options for dinner but then Hannah messaged me and told me they were going to finish up and head for dinner. So I caught the light rail downtown and walked to the brewery. I grabbed a beer and then we headed to a Mexican restaurant with their friend Connor who ran the trivia. It was great just all sitting around chatting and the waiter was so sweet. He didn't speak much English and was very forgetful, clearly stressed out as well. It was a great way to end the world's busiest day of museums.
    Read more