Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Wandering around Houston

    June 16, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    Today I woke up greeted by the cat and John made us breakfast which was so yum. Hannah and I then went to Walmart which was massive. We got a few things that they needed for the run on Sunday then headed back to the brewery. I then played my day of walking out. It was about 43 degrees and 90% humidity, but I wanted to see some sights of downtown Houston. I visited multiple parks, the old courthouse, a church, the tallest building in Texas, and finally Sam Houston Park which had historic houses from the 1800s. The best part of walking around downtown is the murals which are on some buildings, they are diverse and beautiful! I sat here for a bit and read my book before jumping on the light rail to start my trek to a few other breweries. I stopped by a park near the convention centre and then continued on to True Anomaly brewing and 8th Wonder. The beer selection was big and they weren't bad at all. The venues were just a bit average compared to Frost Town. I then headed back into town and had dinner at an underground food court which had a cool vibe.
    I walked back to Frost Town and spoke with some regulars who literally bought an apartment based on the brewery being built where it is. They were a lovely couple and really great to talk to. Then Hannah ran bingo which was really busy, good to see them doing well.
    After that, Hannah and John took me to an Australian owned brewery called Platypus, which has tried to play on Aussie culture a bit. It was average, the beer was different. We then headed to a local bar so Hannah could get food and met up with some of their friends for a chat and another beer.
    It was a full day of exploring, drinking and meeting some cool humans!
    Read more