Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 83

    Colca Canyon II

    June 11, 2017 in Peru ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    We were all so tired that we were sleeping around nine. I shared the room with Merel, a 19year old girl from the Netherland, traveling on her own in South America, speaking Dutch, English, Spanish and German since she left Europe after a season as a ski instructor in Austria. A very bright and lovely girl. Then there was Anna from Germany, also alone on the way, 22years, ergotherapeut and taking some time off between jobs. She doesn't know when she will go back home. I think this is very brave I don't know if I could travel not knowing when going home since already looking forward doing that in a month and seeing my people again, going to the Gurtenfestival and also starting to work.
    We had the meeting this morning at 4:55h. Cesar alsways had funny meeting times. We started the 6km hike 1200m up to 3400m. Still dark, the moon was giving enough light to walk without a torch. It was beautiful. I enjoyed it very much. Unfortunately some had problems, like Aurelien, suffering of altitude sickness. I was scared he would faint so I walked the last bit with him carrying his backpack. Luckily he got up there and after some break he looked and felt much better. We had breakfast in a nice little restaurant nad headed to the hot springs. That was a nice treat. Lunch was a bit frustrating since we stopped at a restaurant which wad overpriced and the staff very rude and unfriendly. At least the food was good and the company as well. After a short stop where we could quickly take pictures of Llamas and Alpacas we headed back to Arequipa. I took a shower, unpacked and repacked my backpacks and I am now sitting in the bus to Cusco for Trail number 2.
    Read more