Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Mt. Everest

    April 28, 2019 in India ⋅ 🌫 36 °C

    We arrived later in Delhi at 1:30 since we couldn’t overfly Pakistan and had 1:15h longer. We had to go through customs and get our bag. We had again a big laugh because they looked as they were dragged through dirt. Well, yellow is a heikle color, right? After getting our visas for an hour stay at the airport if Delhi we were picked up by a very friendly guy, could relax for an hour in a lounge. That was a bizarre thing. There was also a little problem with me having Müller in the passport but Mueller on the visa for Bhutan. It is often a reason to discuss. But they let me in. If you are not Indian you need a Visa for Bhutan. Like that they control tourism. Last year 200’000 people visited that country, only 75’000 of them not Indian. They have an open border with India. We were advised to take seats on the left side to fly from Delhi to Paro because it was supposed to be the most beautiful flight. And it was. After again passing through security which was just weird being checked from a woman in something like a changing room - anyway, Lilian and me again laughed tears. We successfully boarded the plane run by Drukair. We first flew to Kathmandu getting closer and closer to the Himalayan giants. We saw approximately 5 Mt. Everests, since all of them very big but geographically it couldn’t be him/her/it yet. The French guy next to me didn’t have any idea and therefor no help in the Everest-confusion but was putting his camera to the window and excused himself all the time while doing it. So at one point I asked him if I could take the pictures so he wouldn’t lean over me all the time and I wouldn’t have to smell his bad breath. We had a quick stop in the capital of Nepal and then the mountain show really started. And there was Mt. Everest! At least I think the mountain on the picture is the real one. And if not, it is a pretty one at least so do not complain. It was a really nice flight and after a quite adventurous landing approach to Paro gliding through the valley we touched ground in Bhutan. Oh it smelled already very nice, fresh and spicy when leaving the plane (and the French guy). We were picked up by our guide, 25year old Tenzin dressed in the traditional cloth Gho and our driver Jimmy. We went right away to a temple. The temple has been built in the 7th century and is one of the oldest in Bhutan. The Bhutanese are very fond of nice clothes and it is advised to put on a nice blouse while visiting those holy sites. Well. I was still in my training trousers and I wasn’t at all wearing something just slightly similar and chic to a blouse. Let alone my fancy pink socks. You visit temples always without shoes. I felt a bit uncomfortable like I would not respecting their wishes on holy places. Luckily it didn’t seem a problem though. After that we went for a delicious lunch. Food is delicious here. I just gonna mention it once. It is also aspargus season. They are way thinner then ours and just yummy. After that we checked in in our hotel which was once a palace. I am always surprised when staying at such beautiful places because I just don’t expect it. What a view on the valley. Splendid. We were picked up in the afternoon for a walk in the town. The town is mostly a mainstreet and lives on tourism. They made the houses look pretty in the 80ies. We had something like the coffee number 10 and visited the local fruit and vegetable market. We came the way back to the hotel by foot, climbing up the little hill to see how we were doing at 2300m altitude and I went straight for a nap since I just couldn’t think straight due to exhaustion. Diner was splendid/delicious/marvelous, take the superlative you want, especially the chicken with cashew sauce, in a roundish restaurant with a view on the Dzhong, which we would visit the next day. Wonderful.Read more