Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    CT

    September 30, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    While it felt like my chances of running into other tourists from my home country were fairly high in Bangkok, the city is so huge and there are so many markets that cater to people who live there, a lot of the time to me it felt like I was the only tourist within sight.

    Out of my recent travels I'd say Jakarta, Indonesia felt like the least touristy spot. I think Bali, and some other areas in Indonesia were tourist hotspots before covid, but not so much Jakarta. Taiwan and Mainland China also mostly didn't feel very touristy, KL and Singapore sort of did.

    Anyway, at this point (August 9th, 2021), probably almost 2 years since the first cases started cropping up, I wouldn't mind visiting the tackiest touristy crappy hell hole tourist trap in the world, wherever that is, just to be traveling again.

    Thailand really did an amazing job at keeping this virus under control, up until about two months ago. But I guess there was only so much they could do, so long they could hold out, after most countries in the Americas and Europe have done such a poor job at handling this.
    Read more