Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Hiroshima

    June 30, 2017 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    My berth for the 2nd night of the ship’s journey from South Korea to Japan was co-ed - 4 German girls had joined us with massive back packs, which took up half the room, and hairy armpits. After a reasonable night's sleep we docked at Sakaiminato in Western Japan. Sailing along the coastline in the early morning with low mist hanging over the lush green tree-covered hills was a wonderful introduction to the country. For once, us ‘foreigners’ were allowed off the boat first (Bye Bye Kitty!). At customs all my bags were opened and searched. They soon realised I wasn't bringing more than $10,000 into the country and let me go. A free mini bus was waiting to take us (well, only me) to the railway station where I registered my Japan Rail Pass I had purchased in the U.K. - Japan was now my oyster!

    The helpful station staff printed my Pass and provided a detailed itinerary how to get to my next destination- Hiroshima - a local train for a bit, then a Limited Express train to Okayama and then FINALLY - THE BULLET TRAIN to Hiroshima - YES! It is really well named, travelling at 200 MPH. Lovely, roomy seats and a nice touch - the ticket inspector turned and bowed to his passengers each time he entered or left the carriage- you don't get that on ScotRail!

    I arrived at Hiroshima in jig time, but had to be quick getting off the train as it only stops for seconds before shooting off again. At the station I overheard a Scottish voice and briefly said hello to a family (the Broons). I caught the tram outside the station to my hotel - the Righa Royal. What a great choice it turned out to be - beautiful foyer and impeccable staff who couldn't do enough for you, while constantly bowing. Being a copy cat, I have now started bowing to everyone in return! And the bathroom facilities - what can I say.- the toilet had a set of controls which disinfected the bowl, heated the seat, and acted as a bidet and a spray. I thought I would try out the heated toilet seat, but pressed the wrong button and a jet suddenly came from nowhere - well, could I get it off - there was water everywhere (and I mean everywhere!).

    Hiroshima is forever etched in everyone's minds due to events on 6 August 1945 when the US dropped the world's first Atomic Bomb on the city killing 140,000 and destroying over 90% of the buildings. The hotel was well located for visiting the Peace Memorial Park; the A-Bomb Dome (the remains of which have been left as they were as a permanent reminder of the horror of nuclear war). I visited the Peace Memorial Museum and found it extremely moving. As you enter, there is a huge cyclorama view of the city as it was, and without warning the next room shows the same view after the bomb - the devastation reduced me to tears. With videos of survivors’ stories and it's message to the world that there should never be another Hiroshima, this is a highly recommended place to visit when in Japan. Hiroshima is now officially a Peace City.

    Both in the museum and in the Peace Park outside, who did I bump into again but the Broons - Russell, Jo and their daughter, Daisy. It turns out they are from Jordanhill, and Daisy knows Orla Leese (small world, Marie-Claire). Russell insisted Daisy took a picture to send to Orla, of me lying on a park bench saying ‘look who we found sleeping in a park!’. They were a lovely family, and it was good to have a chat with them and hear some familiar accents.

    On return to the hotel I took advantage of their spa facilities. Initially I was put off because they made a charge, but it was well worth it. A beautiful swimming pool, steam room, and separate hot baths, plunge pools and sauna for ladies and gents. They even had a Powder Room for Gents, with free bathrobes, razors, gel, toothbrushes / toothpaste, hair gel, after shave and moisturiser! What luxury after being on The Vital Spark for two days!

    I was exhausted by this time, so had dinner in the hotel restaurant - a beautiful meal - again served with much smiling and bowing - I could get used to this!
    Read more