Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    The Canadian

    August 4, 2017 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    Following a pancake breakfast in the hostel cafe, I made my way to Pacific Central Station to drop my luggage. From there, I started walking along the water towards Stanley Park. The smog from the forest fires still enveloped the city so visibility was pretty poor. Eventually I got myself to Gastown where I had been promised pretty cobbled streets, architecture and the infamous steam powered clock. As I approached the area the tourist population rapidly increased along with the gift shops. In the distance I could see a small upright clock puffing out whisps of steam. I felt that Gastown had been oversold somewhat. Still, I browsed a few gift shops and treated myself to a late lunch at The Old Spaghetti Factory. I didn't have too long now until my train.

    Unlike any other train I'd been on, boarding commenced an hour before departure. Stranger still was that the train was split on to four different platforms to avoid passengers having to walk an inordinate distance to their carriage. There were over 20 of them! No wonder they needed us to board early. They had to put the train together! This train was going all the way to Toronto. Thankfully I was only going as far as Jasper which would take approximately 20 hours.

    On boarding I found myself a suitable window seat and was pleased to find the train was empty enough for me to assume both seats and so I began nesting. Kate was the first to make this observation of Joey travel behaviours. Anywhere I'm spending at least one night requires some nesting. I unpack all my essentials so they're close at hand and effectively make myself at home. Kate couldn't bear the idea of packing and unpacking but for me it was a vital activity that kept me sane in this nomadic existence. Don't misunderstand me I didn't unpack my entire suitcase everywhere. Just a few things to make me feel at home.

    It was fairly late by the time the train departed so we only had just over an hour of daylight left. It wasn't long before I put my moose socks on and curled up to sleep. I'd be awake early tomorrow to admire the scenery on this wonderful journey on board 'The Canadian'.
    Read more