Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    One More Try

    April 21, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    I'm pretty sure no one has searched harder for the Road to Nowhere than me. At this point I'd already hiked 4.5 miles, but I was determined. As I returned to the trail head, I decided to take the trail in another direction hoping that it might be the road to nowhere. This time, however, after about 40 minutes of walking I found other humans on the trail and I asked them if this was the road to nowhere. These were the first people I had seen in three hours. "Is this the road to nowhere?" I asked them with the same emotional intensity of "Are you my mother?". No, they replied. "The Road to Nowhere is the main road that you were driving on. If you take it just a bit further, it will end and there is a parking lot where you can park and walk to the tunnel."

    OMG how did I miss the obvious? So I turned around once again, laughing at myself all the way back to the van. I think I got a 7 mile hike in before breakfast. It was actually a very beautiful scenic hike and I would do it again.
    Read more