Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Sick Travel Day

    September 14, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 57 °F

    We traveled from Moab to Bryce Canyon today, and we're staying at the Bryce Canyon Pines Campground tonight. It was about a 5 hour drive. We arrived and fell asleep.

    Both Doug and I are very sick. Mine started with a sore throat on the 10th, followed by low grade fever, runny nose, congestion and extreme sinus pressure. I'm past the worst of it.

    Doug actually wasn't sick until the evening of the 13th. Whatever it was before, probably just dust in his nose, was not this. His symptoms are different than mine, however... started with sore throat, then fever much higher than mine, chills, muscle aches, and a bit of sinus.

    We keep trekking on, but it has put a kibosh on the hiking which was what we were looking forward to the most. Until today, we were getting in 2 miles a day. Now that Doug is sick, I'm nursing him, making him curry bean soup and ginger tea, and covering him with every blanket and flannel shirt we have.

    Written the next morning, September 15th.
    You know how men are when they are sick,.. and Douglas tends to be pretty dramatic when he's well, so yeh, he's been extremely vocal about it. I try not to laugh at him because I know how miserable he is, but he is quite hilarious at times. Last night he broke out singing "Fever" in the middle of the night. "Oh my God, babe. Tomorrow you're going to take me out and shoot me. We'll dig a big hole, and you'll shout me." A little bit later, "F@#% Fauci!" Then he comes up with an elaborate plot to rob a pharmacy of hydroxychloroquine, leaving our cell phones behind at the campground so they can't track us. "Every time something cold hits my skin, it feels like a third degree burn!" Now I can't laugh because he's very sick, burning up. "How long have I had a fever? Three days?" "No, it's been 36 hours, " I reply. I have my arm over him to help keep him warm. I check his CVAT to rule out kidney infection, negative. We turned the van on twice during the night for a few minutes. It's 42 degrees outside at 7 am. I made another batch of ginger tea as we make our shopping list together.

    On the drive, we stopped to view Black Dragon; well I did. He was sleeping in the back. We drove through scenic byway 12 which was gorgeous! The red rocks are even more red here. We stopped at Dixie State Park and walked around the parking lot for 5 minutes. The beauty of this earth never ceases to amaze me.
    Read more