Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

    September 15, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    We arrived straight away at our campsite at the Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort. My phone says it's 10:30 am when we arrive, but it's actually 11:30. They allow us to check in early. The woman at the desk says that some phones pick up Arizona Standard Time. There is that one part of Arizona that does not switch to Daylight Savings Time. For some reason, my phone is there. It's a little confusing, and just adds to all of the other disorientation we are feeling.

    The resort is out in the middle of nowhere and we have a completely private back-in site surrounded by trees. The Wifi works amazing throughout the park despite being a distance from the clubhouse. They have everything here... condos, yurts, covered wagins and cabins.... tennis, horseback riding, trails, mini golf and transportation to a multitude of tours including jeep, ATV and canyoneering tours. This would be a great place to bring the family for a week. The pool, showers and laundry are not too far away from our site. It's a warm day in the sun but also crisp, about 70 degrees. We decide to hit the hot tub. The hot water and sunshine should do us some good.

    Back and forth between the hot tub and jumping into the cold pool, I float for a few minutes and return to the hot tub. I repeat this cycle 5 times until my legs feel like noodles. It's so relaxing. The sun is intense. My nose and forehead pinken.

    What else do we do today besides hot tubbing? We showered and shaved. I cooked soup for dinner. We walked around a bit. I video-called my girls and granddaughter. I engage in my leadership class small group zoom meeting that occurs every two weeks. The topic is focus, staying focused on important tasks that align with daily, weekly, quarterly and annual goals.

    Retiring into the van after sunset, we watched Handmaid's Tale and I made Doug my "Hot Toddy" drink made from extra creamy oat milk, agave nectar and cinnamon and heated in the microwave. The new season of Handmaid's Tale is coming out this month, so we're starting from season 1 and watching them all again. I ask Doug, "Why do you like this show?" thinking it's more of a chic flic show. "This could be our future," he replies. "We have to wake up and fight for our freedoms." One benadryl and my Invisalign at bedtime... this is my new remedy for TMJ.
    Read more