Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Page Springs Winery Tour

    September 27, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 90 °F

    I headed up to Page Springs to hit a few wineries before heading out of the area. This is a self-conducted tour, by the way. My first stop was Page Springs Cellars. This winery was delightful and I spent my time enjoying my plush suite indoors. The patrons around me were all European so their language only made the experience more exotic for this pure-blooded, at least fifth generation American.

    I ordered a flight tasting, a glass of my favorite Colibri Mourvedre, and the Mediterranean Sampler. Everything was wonderful and I left with two bottles. Behind the tasting room are some of their vineyards and barrels. I took a walk around before heading out to the next winery just yards away.

    My second stop was Oak Creek Winery. I ordered a mixed white and red flight of wine and enjoyed while sitting outside by a fountain that sounded like a live creek. Nearby was a group of seven African American military retirees with matching hats. They came in with a 2.5 foot loaf of French bread in a bag which they passed around the table and each pinched off a hunk. They get more and more lively the more they drink. One of them breaks out in doing and starts dirty dancing to Tiesta's The Business... I love hearing their chatter. They are from all over, several from Detroit and they vacation together. They've been vacationing together for many years now.

    My last stop is Javelina Leap. All of their wines are dry, bone dry, which means they have less than 1% sugar. I've never heard that terminology used before, but it is a thing. Bone dry is my style in wine. I talked to Kim who is the wife of the owner. The parents live on the back of the property and Kim is married to their son. They live at the front of the property with their two young sons. Their motto is to only make bone dry wines. If you like sweet, they serve sangria for you.

    I said goodbye to Kris today. At home, our friends and family are preparing for the imminent hurricane, Ian. Because of this, Kris feels called to return to check on everything sooner than I can drive her there. I know it's been a very tense time for everyone back in Florida. I keep having flashbacks to Irma (another hurricane that stared with I).
    Read more