Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 9

    Day 6. 42.3 k Oia to Vigo

    14 Temmuz 2023, Ispanya ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Was far too tired to post last night but as usual I'm awake with the birds so I'm enjoying the peace and writing now. Left our modern Alburge (chosen by Megan we are taking turns picking accomadtion) at dusk yes morning after been woken by the Italians having a breakfast party at 5.30am and after chatting over coffee with a young German girl who was kept awake by the group of 10 Italians typing loudly followed by beeps all night on their phones. . She told me "I'm so angry with them" With our fleeces pulled up to our chins and enjoying the welcome cold air we were on our way. After 5k of walking we stopped along the coast a beautiful camp site. Its our last stop before Bioano. The girls devoured a breakfast of warm ham and cheese crosssistants coffee and orange juice. Our camino passports are stamped and we are back on the way. The walk is along a busy road with lots of cyclists going at super fast speed past us. We walk one behind the other singing loudly to Taylor swift shake it of which im playing loudly over the vroom of car sounds. We try to encourage Megan to join in. April is complaining of her feet this morning and we to stop a few times to let them breath. A very kind family from Spain the niece travelling with her aunt and uncle (see photos) stop to offer tape plasters and everything they have. We continued to walk along side them and soon discover Maria's uncle has done 16 caminos this his 17th and he's still smiling as he tells us in his very limited Spainsh which is translated to English by Maria. We eventually stop and have refreshments with them and a much needed break. This is the first time we are asked why are we doing the camino. Most people do the camino to heal from somthing take time out get over a death. April's says I like to walk my dog I thought it wud be fun and Megan says i wanted to do it after watching the movie "The way" as for me i explain briefly about my separation and needing some respite I'm conscious of the girls listening so say very little. The girls have their first refreshing ice cream of the day. By 11am 7k under our belt we are back on track. April is tried but the promise of a swim in the sea keeps her going. We reach Bioana sweaty and tired I'm really missing my hat that I left behind in Caminha. The girls are quickly stripped and swimming in the sea. Im in too just up to my knees the water is cool and invigorating and we are surrounded by fish and as the girls point out on a number of occasions lots of top less spainsh ladies. Im asked why by April.
    Using hand gestures and Megan's school spainish we chat to some locals who recommend a local restaurant for lunch. We are excited to try some paella now were in Spain. After a long lunch surrounded by locals we are back on the Camino. Its hot now too hot. April is tired the blister between her toes is stinging her now so after 2 hours of walk we stop at a local Chiringuito girls have their 3rd ice cream I have an espresso. We are served by a young girl who tells us she's studying to be a primary teacher. She has excellent English and great empathy. She declares to the girls saying "You are very strong". I inspect April's foot the blister is now infected it has burst and is oozing. After 26k I decided the rest of journey to Vigo will be done by taxi she needs to rest for the evening. The very kind isabella phones us a taxi. After a quick 30 min taxi ride (April sleeps the whole way) we arrive to a not so welcoming hotel in Vigo. We are on the 4th floor. Megan bravely puts her fear of elevators aside. I hold her hand tightly promising her we won't get stuck and saying "We can't do the stairs not today". To my dismay our room doesnt have a bath. Leaving April and Megan to relax in the hotel room I quickly rush to the pharmacy next door were I leave with a bag of creams dressings and of course more compeed plasters. I treat April's wound and she tells me she's grateful by a kiss on the cheek and the words I love you. I probe Megan about her feet she proudly tells me she has no blisters and feels great in her words she's says "This camino isn't affecting me at all". I laugh to myself and try to ignore my own huge blister on my toe which gives the girls great entertainment in seeing a blister so big but for some reason it's not to sore but then again it hasn't popped. It's 9pm and I'm our walking again to collect some pizza in a nearby pizzeria asking myself Why are tennagers always hungry? By 10pm we are all asleep and as the girls divulged to me yesterday I'm sure I'm snoring loudly again. Since when did this happen. I'm blaming the tiredness
    Okumaya devam et