Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Be prepared

    September 16, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 7 °C

    50 years ago I was a scout. Motto....Be Prepared. More later.

    I am determined at some point to call in on Drs Finlay, Cameron and their housekeeper Janet. But can I locate them? I have Dr Fonlays Casebook but can't return it to him.

    Up past Soldiers Leap at the Pass of Killicrankie and then to Blair Atholl, home of the only private army in the UK.

    Then reached the road to Drumochter Summit. Having done no forward prep for this route the sign that awaits is a little alarming. No food for 30km. Weather can be atrocious in summer. Etc.

    BUT I WAS A SCOUT AND MY WIFE DOES FOREST SCHOOL. Should be ok.

    Before passing through the gate I run through my winter survival checklist.
    1 Ice Axe and crampons
    2 Bivvy bag
    3 Full winter clothing
    4 Fire steel and kindling
    5 Satellite distress beacon
    6 3 days supply of high calorie food
    7 A pair of shorts and T-shirt.

    Bother. Items 1 to 6 missing. Ah well, I either make it or die a hero trying to get to Dalwhinnie.

    Onwards and upwards in the face of what appeared to be a 40mph Northerly wind. A bit of a brisk breeze according to a local going the other way. Yes it was freezing. 4 layers on and it was cold. Met a guy cycling in shorts and sandals. Hardy fool!

    Kept a keen eye out for potential shelter in case that was really snow I could see in the air but it turned out to be willow herb seeds blowing about. Incidentally willowherb was rare in Britain until the railway age. The passing locomotives spread the seed along the lines as they passed.

    Reached the summit alive and assumed it would be easier going downhill. Yes, marginally, but that 75mph 'breeze' hampered progress quite a bit. Survived the highest point on the National Cycle Network in Scotland and I am now telling you the true tale of my survival against the odds and against the elements. It was touch and go at times.

    According to the welcome sign Nessie is more alive than Drs Finlay, Cameron and their Janet. Hope I have more success in that direction.

    Passed General Wade's Ruthven Barracks. Apparently the building deadline was delayed because the locals kept kidnapping the stone masons. Genius ploy. 4 men once defended it against an army of 200.

    Through the beautiful rust coloured woods of Scots pine I found the village church of Insh with a simply stunning stained glass window. And so to Aviemore.

    Yesterday I hated Scotland. Today I fell in love with it a bit.
    Read more