Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Fes, Morocco - The Medina

    September 17, 2017 in Morocco ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Today we drove to the oldest city in the world - Fes. It was a place that I have always wanted to visit. When we arrived at our accommodation, the view was amazing. We were about 10 minutes from the main part of Fez, looking down at the Medina. When we ventured to the Medina, we learnt many things about this largest Medina.

    Walking though the Medina, is like walking through a maze, without a tour guide we definately would have got lost. Walking up and down the narrow paths were amazing. Every way you turned you saw something different. Locals were selling everything from olives, Moroccan sweets covered in honey, different flavours and colours of nougat, and of course live chickens, pigeons etc.

    One of the highlights for me was visiting the largest tannery in the world - Chouara. Soufiane of course warned me about the smell, however this didnt put me off I still wanted to see this for myself. When we arrived they gave us all mint which we were told to smell, this of course did nothing to the death like smell. It was by far the most disgusting smell I have ever smelt. The girls were definately not impressed.

    The process to making this quality leather is complex, the skin of sheep, camel, are used.

    Overall I loves Fez, loved the Medina and felt safe the whole time. There were beggers however we didn't get hassled too much.
    Read more