Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 37

    Camino Torres to Beira Valenta

    8 de mayo, Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 75 °F

    On this day, our plans did not quite go as forecast. We had planned for Connie to cab ahead to Moimenta because of her shin splints, and then she would walk the last 4 km with us (or not, depending on how her leg felt) to where we were staying in an Albergue. Moimenta is a big town so we would be able to have a nice meal there before we headed on to the small village where we were going to spend the night.

    We left the albergue at the nautical sports center in Vila do Ponte at about 8 AM and walked across the bridge to the same bar where we had had lunch the day before. We had coffee and a small breakfast there, really just a piece of sweet bread. Then Connie called a cab and Roel and I walked 16 km to meet her. This was the first day that was really sunny and warm on this camino . I noticed that I was sweating quite a bit and we didn’t come across any opportunity for food or rest, but we thought we would eat when we met Connie in Moimento.

    When we arrived in Moimenta & met Connie, I felt an overwhelming need to sit down and rest so we hurriedly went to a pizza restaurant and ordered some food. Then I needed to lay down, which was not convenient because there was only a cold floor in a small restaurant . But without an option, I was soon on the floor with my feet elevated and feeling better, joking about how I would like to have my food on the floor with me so that I could actually eat.

    The only other people in the restaurant were a table of 4 people, including a woman who spoke English and another woman who was a student nurse. So soon I had 2 worried people by me, insisting on calling the EMT & evaluating me. Long story short, an ambulance arrived and said my blood pressure was very low but everything else was good. 70/50 is kind of low I admit, but I think the problem was that I needed some electrolytes, and some rest & some FOOD, which I was not allowed to have until after a doctor saw me, LOL. Anyway, an enlightening experience with the Portuguese medical system, it only cost me €51 and a couple of hours. Needless to say, we all took a taxi on our final 4 km to the albergue.

    Our taxi driver was great: he refused to just drop us off, he made sure the albergue was open and even checked to make sure the hot water worked! Have I mentioned how great the Portuguese people have been?
    Leer más