Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 9

    Synchronicity

    16 maj, Italien ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    This entry is being written while I wait to sail on the ferry from Pozzallo southern Sicily to Malta. The journey takes less than two hours. It is a very fast catamaran.
    Breakfast at the hotel this morning was the best so far and included with the room cost of 46 euros.
    I was on the road by 9.30. the first hour was on country roads, slow and bumpy. I wasn't in a hurry and the scenery was lovely. This far south you know you are in the Mediterranean. Palm trees and cacti everywhere.
    I joined the motorway and set the cruise control slower than usual as I was not in a hurry.
    About ten kilometres from the Villa San Giovanni ferry a motorcycle similar to mine overtook me quite fast and I saw the letter M for Malta on his plate so I sped up and stayed with him. When I saw the sign for petrol and coffee I pulled along side and signalled "drink". He followed me in and a few minutes later two of his friends joined us. We chatted for a while then I said I'm going in for coffee. While I waited for them to arrive I messaged Pierre in Malta saying I met some Maltese men on bikes. He replied. Is one of them riding a 500 Honda. Yes I said. Pierre asked if he was called Mario. Yes came the reply. Pierre said he was sitting in an office with his brother.
    Photos were exchanged and we all had a good laugh. (Malta has a population of over half a million).
    We traveled the last few kilometres to the ferry and I went to buy a ticket. When I came out I joined the wrong queue of vehicles and ended up back on the motorway. By the time I returned the ferry had sailed so I got the next one half an hour later.
    I wanted to get to Pozzallo before 5pm as I needed to collect and pay for my ticket. I arrived at 4.15 and was told I'm booked in the 9.30 ferry so I went to the office and they changed it. I also booked the next journey to leave Malta on the 2nd June.
    I can't wait to get to Malta.
    I'm looking forward to the short ride from the ferry to the house which has me smiling every time.
    Läs mer