Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    飛行機の日😭

    January 16, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 43 °F

    I wanted to spend this last day visiting Kamakura south of tokyo but ended up having to stay in the airport pretty much the whole day 🫠 I planned on checking my bags early in the morning then heading to do some final sightseeing in Kamakura but the checked bag counter did not open till two. I got to use some of my Japanese to ask where I could store my bags until then but the lockers only had one luggage space available and I had two luggages. So, I ended up spending most this day chilling in the airport and waiting for my flight.

    My flight ended up being delayed by an hour so I went to go find a usb-c cord at one of the shops since I had accidently left my cord in my checked bag. It was very difficult to find a shop with it in stock and had to keep asking various employees if they knew where they were. I assumed because we were in an airport alot of the staff would be familiar with English but I was wrong! Any time I started with English I ended up just switching to Japanese because it was easier to communicate that way. I was proud of how much my ability has changed from arriving in Japan to leaving from these interactions. I was able to communicate without much hesitation regarding what I wanted to say. It was a cool feeling going from a confusing english conversation about the cord to a pretty straightforward Japanese conversation about the cord.

    Walking back to my seat, I stopped to grab a small snack from a vending machine. There was a little girl probably around 2-3 years old searching under the machine for lost change. I tried to ask her if she wanted something from the machine but she stared at me blankly in response. I didn't need my Japanese money anyways, so I placed the rest of my change from my wallet in the vending machine's change return slot, looked at the girl, then walked away. Once I was about 100 meters away I looked back and saw she was looking at me while fishing out the money from the machine. I hope she was able to figure out how to use the machine and get something tasty 🍘
    Read more