Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Long day to Aldea del Cano

    May 5, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Well there was a method to my madness—this long day today means I have a short24 km tomorrow. That means I’ll have the whole afternoon to enjoy Cáceres, a very nice and very pretty city.

    People didn’t start getting up till 6:30, so even though I was awake at my usual 5-ish, I waited till others started moving. By the time I got ready and had a pretty bad breakfast, it was about 7:30 when I started out. That’s late for a 40 km day, but luckily the day was cool.

    The first 20+ kms were just gorgeous, same dehesa landscape as the days before.

    Special treat of the day was a 4 km detour to visit the 7C visigothic church, Santa Lucía del Trampal. Oh so beautiful. Well worth a detour.

    At about km 26, I came to the place where everyone from last night was staying. The town is called Alcuéscar.I have stayed in this place before. It’s a monastery that has one floor as an Albergue. But its main function is to house and provide for a number of men with special needs who have no family. Noble mission, but the last time I was here, I saw less than kind and caring treatment of these poor men. It gave me a very bad feeling and I just didn’t want to stay here.

    So that meant 15 more kms. It was flat and relatively uninspiring, a kind of “pedal to the metal” type of walk. True, there were occasional Roman milestones and a Roman bridge or two, but for the most part it was just something to get done. At about 4:15 I arrived to the small Albergue. Two hours later, showered and with clothes washed, it’s just a 90 minute wait till the nice people in the restaurant next door will serve us a dinner!
    Read more