Satellite
Show on map
  • Travel Day

    June 15, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    We decided to take the plunge and go to Spain soon after the government welcomed vaccinated American tourists back on June 7. Today is travel day, from Champaign to Chicago to Dallas to Madrid. I got up at 3:30 so I could do my elliptical routine. I don’t think I am a superstitious person, but the one time I did not get up early to exercise, our flight was delayed and we had a horrendous travel day. Since then, I have done it no matter what — now that I have an elliptical in the downstairs bedroom, it is much easier. No more 2 am trips to Anytime Fitness!

    Somehow I booked our flights with a 5 hour layover in Chicago and a 50 minute connection time in Dallas. I tried to change the flight to an earlier one out of Chicago, but was told it would cost $1000 per person. So yesterday, the day before the flight, I tried one more time to plead my case. The agent was very nice, but said she couldn’t do anything. She suggested I talk to her supervisor, and that was the charm!

    So here we are in Dallas, with our short and medium flights done. No hiccups so far, knock on wood. Now comes the long flight in a few hours. There are lots and lots of delays here in Dallas. Not exactly sure why, because the weather is fine. We’ll get there when we get there!

    I have printed out the opening times of Córdoba’s main monuments. Hoping to get to the Mezquita more than once, it is one of the world’s most stunning buildings,. Even though the conquering Spaniards in the 11th century did insert a cathedral in the middle of the mosque, at least they left much intact. I can’t wait!
    Read more