Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 102

    SIXTHOUSANDFIFTYSEVEN!

    February 26, 2018 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 5 °C

    Summited Vulcano Chachani the other day. Everyone said I can’t climb it in one day - so I climbed it in one day.
    It was challenging in a way I never experienced it before, but I‘m glad I made it.
    I decided to go for the less common tour without the one night stay in the high camp - it was a challenge to find a guide who would do it in one day and furthermore there needed to be at least 3 persons to split up the costs. It was pretty random how the team came together in the end, a Canadian girl who works in goldmines at minus 30 degrees six months straight a year (so tough!) and an friend from Israel of her, who decided to come with us within 2 minutes, were my companions in the end. I was exited and a little bit nervous as well the night before, because this girl from Taiwan who wanted to join me in the beginning, just until she realized that I want to do it in one day, told me that she’s a doctor and its a stupid idea and could be lifethreatening to go for it just in one day. I proofed her wrong, she actually was part of the other group that tried to make it in two days, we could’ve met at the summit, but all 7 persons of this group quit and turned around.
    We started to climb in the middle of the night with our lovely guide Julio. Had a quick breakfast and some cocatea at the highcamp and after the sun finally came up were finally able to see something and had an amazing view when looking back. The first half felt (too?) easy, but as we know from running marathon: the second half will hurt more, for sure. We were moving slowly, so I wasn’t sore or whatever, but the lack of oxygen kicked in - unfortunately my ego refused to take some aspirin or altitude pills (which is basically the same I rekon) before - the headache got worse with every 50 meters up, I was a little bit dizzy and most of all just so sooo tired. I never thought that I would be able to lay down on the ground at minus 10 degrees and fall asleep - now I know better, I am. Due to fog, clouds and snow the view got worse the higher we came. Our guide decided to skip as many snowfields as possible, even tough that means that we have to go a longer way - not the worst idea, the other group on that day had to turn around after being to long on the snowfields. The Israelian quit at 5700 or 5800 and I tried my best to motivate my friend from Canada, in between focusing on just making one step after another. I was kinda puffed out, but not the kind of I’m used to from intense training sessions, strange feeling. But anyway you’re not able/ I was not able to think properly anymore at the end, human brains are just not made for a minimum of oxygen. Luckily I hadn’t had any bigger issues with my stomach, I just refused to eat. The last break at 6000m was the worst for me, I was even more exhausted afterwards and didn’t wanted to move anymore, since my head felt like it could explode every second. But since giving up is no fcking option I made my way up to the very top. The view was not existing since we had a whiteout, I was a little disappointed because it’s supposed to be so good, but happy after all that I reached my first 6k.
    The way down was easier and quicker, but due to my head every single step hurted like hell.
    Back in Arequipa I went to bed early after having a burger with my teammate Andrea and was pretty happy the next day that the headache was finally gone.
    Read more