Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 4: Lorca to Estella

    April 16, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Crisp, bright day, walked about 10 km to Estella, pop. 13,688. Trail descended to valley floor and then through fields. Arrived Estella just before midday. First albergue I tried was full then walked around trying to find anotherone
    While resting on a corner looking for accomodation, first a couple of police motorbikes came roaring along the road followed by police cars and then along came the cyclists travelling at great speed before turning sharply right and racing over an ancient stone bridge followed by all the vehicles of modern day professional cycling. Eventually after watching the cyclists used booking.com and secured a night in a highly rated albergue for €15. Nice host, Alfonso - I had top bunk for a change.
    In the evening had 3 course vegetarian meal in Mundo restaurant. Glad I made a reservation as it was a very popular place. I had a Norwegian flag on my table as different flags used to identify customers. Later I booked accommodation for next two nights to avoid turning up and finding albergue full.
    Read more