Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 5

    Desi connection!

    16 Mayıs, İtalya ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    After the long day in rain with 38 kids, train rides where we didn't know which train to take which stop to get down at ... Making sure one over-excited kid doesn't do anything stupid or get lost etc... decided to go eat my kebap sandwich and maybe a beer from outside before the next round of pouring rain starts again!

    Ordered a chicken panini and got my 3rd stamp from the shop (10th sandwich is free, .. maybe the 11th one). It's cheap, fresh and something that's non-italian. More like Mediterranean/Middle Eastern food ... Gyros type. I am tired already of eating things I have never seen or tasted before. I had veal with salmon and anchovy paste. It tasted good, but not like anything I tasted before!

    Placed order for a chicken panini today... while waiting decided to walk to a tabacchi (? tobacco store ... basically a convenience store) and pick up beer. Owner was Bangladeshi - I was only 55% certain but decided to mumble in bangla "Card cholbe?" ("do you take credit cards?") His face lit up and said aapni (you're) bangali?

    Told him I'm a teacher and visiting the politechnic to teach a class. His first reaction was ' campus ta ki sundor na?' ("isn't this a pretty campus?").

    I thought it's kinda cute. He lives here, I don't. But his first reaction was to assume that being a desi I am sure to be impressed by the "beauty" of the campus. Vigorously agreed and left.

    Managed to be back with my dinner just before it started pouring again.
    Okumaya devam et