Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    In Train to Tirano. Not Torino.

    May 19 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Got up early. Made a careful plan. I can do this. Lake como and fancy train ride. I still have until end of Monday (tomorrow) to pull it off.

    I even wrote down my plans on paper, made bookings, trains, fancy train, hotel in como. Triple checked the times, am/pm all corect. Will reach Tirano at 12:52 by regular train. Fancy train at 130 or so .. it's a round trip .. so will come back to tirano (Tirano-St Moritz-Tireno). Then somehow get back to lake Como and stay in the hotel there. Stay overnight and then tomorrow maybe go back to Torino (Turin)

    Torino is where I am "stationed". Tireno is where I am trying to go. By Train. Any questtions? No? Good.

    Was very proud of my detailed planning. But the first train got stuck at Monza - first station after we started. They said it's estimated that it will take 14 minutes to fix whatever problem they had with the tracks. It was there for 1.5 hours. So I will miss my fancy train for sure!

    Train was super crowded first .. with my bike dangling over peoples head. But at Varenna almost everyone got down and I could sit comfortably. Still on that ride. Still going to Tireno. Thought of getting down at Como but decided to continue with the original plan. Let's see.

    Ciao.

    Ciao is hello and goodbye. Like aloha. Some people say ciao-ciao for goodbye.

    Well, spoke too soon .. just about to upload this and they announced that this train will NOT go to Tireno any more. We have to get down at another station and change to a different train!

    Back to the drawing board, I guess.

    At least the views are nice.
    Read more