Satellit
Vis på kort
  • Dag 68

    Antarctica: Evening in Gerlache Strait

    17. februar 2023, South Atlantic Ocean ⋅ ☁️ 32 °F

    It gets dark in Antarctica this time of the year … for a number of hours at least.

    Mui and I are not used to having actual nightfall down here. Then again, we’ve never been here this late in the Antarctic summer. No matter, we’re usually getting ready for bed around 10:30p when the sun finally sets. Sunrise is around 5:30a … just a little before we wake up.

    I don’t mind the nightfall. On previous trips, with it still being light and bright even at midnight and beyond, I found it hard to leave the open decks because I didn’t want to miss anything. On this trip, I’ll be getting a good night’s rest after the scenery is shrouded by nightfall.

    All that said, as we cruised Gerlache Strait tonight, we did take advantage of the daylight after dinner to enjoy some of the best scenery we saw today … sunlight, blue skies … makes all the difference.

    Tomorrow’s cruising destination is not far from here. So, I’m thinking we won’t be straying far tonight.
    Læs mere