Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 85

    Mells St Andrews church & leaving Frome

    July 15, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Fighting the 40 mile an hour wind I determined to make it to Mells St Andrews church. I had set off around 3pm reckoning it would take me a couple of hours each way ...I didn't reckon on the weather turning or getting lost!! Again!! I will learn to check the roads thoroughly....that's what this Camino is teaching me. Another lesson.. plan. Navigate for plain sailing...

    I was so lucky to ask a gentleman, one, if I was on the right road and two how much further I had to go. He was just about to mow his lawn, putting his mowing shoes on!! He told me it was still quite a distance, maybe tw9 miles to go. Then getting up on his feet, yelled "wait there I'll be back in a moment" ...

    He was a thirty something year old wearing jogging pants and shirts, clean cut hair, and as I stood there thinking about carrying on, he came rushing back "hop in my car I'll take you there!" I was in two minds thinking about beholding to someone again, wanting to walk, but also wanting to get there before the church closed!

    It was now after 5 o'Clock and he had calculated the time I had and the distance...as we drove down the road, round one corner then another, I was dismayed in that I had gotten myself lost yet again. And I would never have made it before 6pm. I thanked the young man profusely, he shaking his head "it's just what I do!" and off he went ....

    I enjoyed my time at the church especially as there was a choir in rehearsal I will post a video in my next footprint as not enough room here. Apparently, Seigfried Sassoon is buried here, and I missed his grave...saw it but couldn't read the inscription. He was an amazing poet and wrote against war in general while serving in the first WW.

    I sat for a while enjoying the ambiance in the church and the singing before quietly making my way home again. It was about 6.30 and as I left the rain started pouring down. Thankfully the wind had settled down some and I met a couple who were lovely and told of their sojourn to New Zealand some years ago. They had met the owner of the Todd car company and invited to his home in Taupo amazed at the magnificence of the home overlooking the lake. The gentleman pointed me in the direction of the river walk back to Frome, so excited for that off I went.

    I was a little nervous as his wife had said she wouldn't point anyone in that direction "not past the old iron works" said she. Well undeterred by her revelations, onward I ploughed through the rain, although quite humid as well. After walking for some way I began to look for signs back to Frome but unfortunately if there had been any signs they were all missing. Blindly I followed the instructions of the gentleman "to follow the river", good advice but when it came to paths crossing each other and forking along the way, somehow I got lost. I ended up seemingly miles away from my destination. I had walked for two hours by now feet soaking wet, mud puddles avoided where I could but in the end it didn't make any difference.

    As the evening wore on I did begin to worry then of a sudden I was in a clearing and at the back of a quarry?? the gates opened into the quarry yard and through I went. There was a pub on the grounds, although closed, it had a telephone number to call, so I called and was told by the woman on the other end that there was no easy way as the road is very busy and not safe for walking on. However if I had no other choice she told me how to get to the road...

    Off I went once more, and yes once on the road there was a steep climb. At the top of the climb there were a couple of houses so I decided to ask if I was on the right road to Frome. Knocking on one door a gentleman appeared in the next property to tell me that the people were out. I told him I only wanted directions so he said "where are you going to my love?" He in white shorts, white gutties and no shirt sporting a very deep tan responded to me. Directions given, off I went thanking him for his kindness.

    Not 100 yards up the road and a white very flash car pulled up beside me, "I will give you a lift, you just have to tell me where you're going" tanned gentleman now with shirt on ... I was absolutely overwhelmed with gratitude and of course accepted immediately. The car was his wife's car as his was put away in the garage, he had gone in and spoken to his wife about me. A lovely guy who had just come home from a holiday in Spain, of course. He and his wife looking to move there. I am amazed, delighted and so very grateful for all the kindnesses shown on this journey. Blessed!
    Read more